top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

3 Tips to Help Long Distance Friendships

After a year and a half since moving away from my hometown I have learned how important friendships are even when they are long distance. Although I have reconnected with a couple of friends from my hometown who also moved to Calgary, my friends back home will always have a special place in my heart and I want them to know that. We are all busy these days and as a new adult I'm learning this more than ever, so here are a few ways to maintain your friendships long distance or not.



Video Chat and/or Call

These calls don't have to be long but it's an amazing way to keep in touch. Technology is amazing. I had a friend who moved away in 2011 for two years. We video chatted once and emailed the entire time. Now I'm able to video chat with my friends whenever I want. By chatting with your friends regularly it shows you're still thinking about them whenever anything interesting happens.



Snail Mail

For the complete opposite of the previous option you can go old fashion and write letters to one another. I personally love writing letters as it's also an amazing way of expressing creativity. In these letters I will often write about my favorite things at the time like songs. Sometimes I will include little sticky notes with affirmations written on them. There are countless things you can include in your letter depending on what you have on hand. Getting mail that isn't a bill or junk will never fail to make anyone's day especially coming from a friend.



Make Time to Visit

Obviously this is the best way to keep in contact but sometimes this isn't always possible due to schedules and money. Luckily since my parents live in my hometown, I still visit fairly often. When visiting even for a family event I will try and carve out some time for my friends. This doesn't have to be a long event. Coffee or dinner is all you need to catch up if you've been making an effort while at home. If you get the chance try and spend more time with your friends but if they are good friends they will understand if you are busy.



When it comes to long distance friendships or just busy times in your friendships the best thing you can do is show them you still care and haven't forgotten about them. Every friendship goes through difficult times, and distance can be one of those yet the best friends will still make an effort through whatever. To all my long distance friends know that I love you!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page