top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

Four Ways to use Mood Boards in your Everyday Life

Updated: Aug 21, 2022

Recently while scrolling through Pinterest I came across a new collage and social media hybrid website. The community has been wonderful, the creation process is easy, and most importantly it's fun. Collage is a great creative endeavor even for those who don't think they are artistic and doing it digitally means that there is no mess to clean up. As a visual person, collage also provides an amazing way to organize my thoughts whether that be for design planning, journaling, organizing my tech, or planning my future.



Interior Design Mood Board

Mood boards are perfect for putting a rough version of your vision on paper. Whether it be for clients or yourself, having a visual collection of your ideas can really help get an idea if it's going to come together how you are wanting.

Here are some ideas on what to include in your design board:

  • Materials

  • Color pallette

  • Style inspiration

  • Décor and furniture you hope to include

  • Patterns for wallpaper and fabric



A Visual Journal

If you have read any of my previous posts you will know I love journaling. The only thing that makes journaling better for me is by making it pretty, although journaling supplies and pretty stationary can be incredibly expensive. By creating visual pages for your journal you can publish them for others to share in your journey or to help others feel less alone. If you don't want to share like I have, that is probably more common, and visual journals can still be for you. They take away the feeling of seeing a scary blank page. I find by adding pretty things to my feelings it makes it more fun and I am more likely to actually do it.


Check out my What's in my Journal blog post for some inspiration.

Backgrounds

This project is much more utilitarian but is also a great way to make your life more aesthetic. If you like to organize your phone or computer, adding a background to visually group things can be super helpful. There are lots of options for grouping together your programs or apps such as;

  • Games

  • Finance

  • Social Media

  • Work

To group your apps I recommend using a visual aids such as;

  • Color blocks

  • Shapes

  • Frames

By playing with your background not only can you optimize your workspace you can also add a little fun to your life.



Vision Boards

Vision boards have gained popularity in the last little while with the manifesting community. Although I don't take part in manifesting, vision boards have been around for quite some time. I find vision boards tent to help me by giving me a visual goal to work towards. They can also help you identify what your goals are and how you picture your future.



There are many other ways you can use mood boards and collage in your everyday life from outfit planning to fine arts. These were just a few ways I have regularly used them. Comment below what your next mood board will be.


All boards were made on The Landing which is a social media and mood board creation site that makes finding images and collaging easy. They are a new site with an amazing community I highly recommend checking out, and no I am not sponsored.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page