top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

How to Work Affirmations Into Your Everyday Life

Affirmations are one effective way to rework your brain towards confidence. Though it can be difficult knowing how to work them into your life when you first start introducing them into your day. Here are some of the ways I work affirmations into my life that are effective and harder to forget.



Use your Mirror

Every morning I look in the mirror in my bathroom even if I'm not trying to look at myself. Mirrors are usually conveniently placed in your home so you see them (mostly so you don't leave your house with spinach in your teeth). Why not use them for your mental health benefit. This may also impact you on a deeper level if your insecurities are rooted in your appearance. Try putting a sticky note on your mirror with your favorite affirmation and repeat it to yourself as you get ready in the morning.


Here are some affirmations to fight insecurities about your appearance:

  • I am beautiful inside and out

  • I deserve to feel beautiful

  • I release my insecurities

  • I am more than my looks

  • My beauty is constant and not up for debate

  • I choose confidence

  • I am growing more comfortable in my own skin

  • My worth has nothing to do with my looks



Phone Background

One way I like to include affirmations into my life is using my phone lock screen and background. We look at our phones everyday. Why not make it a positive part of your day? I would recommend focusing your phone affirmations on your personal worth as we often tie our worth to our productivity rather than who we actually are. The struggle with worth often becomes apparent when on social media where it's often about the grind or hustle.


Some affirmations for encouragement:

  • I am proud of who I am

  • I am enough

  • I am a gift

  • I am moving forward

  • My worth is more than my products

  • My best is enough

  • I am capable



Keep it changing

I am easily distracted and things that are meant to remind me of something often become a part of the background if left unchanged for a while. One way to remind yourself of your affirmations is to change up your reminders consistently. This may look like changing the color of your background or moving the location of your sticky notes. By keeping it fresh you're more likely to remember to actually read the note rather than letting it blend into your environment. This tip will be best for your favorite affirmations to keep them fresh in your mind.


My favorite affirmations:

  • I am creating the life I always wanted

  • I am doing my best, and my best is enough

  • I am safe (for my fellow anxious beans)

  • My progress is valid

  • I am proud of myself

  • I am growing

  • My success is personal

  • I choose joy


Listen to Yourself

Affirmations tend to be personal to what you need at any given moment. Every person is at a different stage in life so the affirmations you need to hear will be different. Listen to your feelings when using an affirmation. Try customizing the affirmation and see how that changes how you feel. You can also look at insecurities and try to combat them directly with your affirmations.


More affirmation ideas:

  • I deserve rest

  • I am not my past

  • My journey is different from others

  • I am not limited by others expectations

  • Others opinions don’t determine my worth

  • I don’t need anyone's approval



Be Consistent

The best way to remember something is to make it a habit. By setting aside time and being consistent it will not only be easier to remember but also more effective. I also recommend taking a look at how you talk to yourself. Negative self talk can cancel out all the progress you are making. Try replacing negative self talk with affirmations and see how it boosts your confidence.


Affirmations for healing:

  • I will be gentle with myself today

  • My progress isn’t always visible but still valid

  • My best is enough

  • I am doing the best I can with what I have

  • I am healing

  • My healing is a priority

  • My boundaries are absolute

  • I am worth standing up for





What are your favorite affirmations?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page