top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • libbyjhawkes

Easy Felted Pumpkin, Fall Décor DIY

It is finally October. The leaves are changing color and I can finally cuddle up in blankets without overheating. Blankets candles and spooky movies for me always go with crafts. I'm a fidgety person and I love a good movie marathon. To combat this paradox I have explored every type of craft under the sun. One of the best crafts I have encountered for multitaskers like me is felting. Not only is felting adorable, it's easy, there's no need to count stitches or measure. For those wanting to dive in, here is my tutorial on how to felt a cute fall pumpkin.



Supplies

Here is what I used
  • A foam ball or white roving felted into a ball

  • Roving (unspun wool) in your colors of choice

  • Felting needles

  • A foam pad (to prevent stabbing yourself)

  • (Optional) a multi needle felting tool.








Step 1

If you don't have a foam ball start by felting an affordable roving into your base shape of a ball.

Once you have a ball, cover it lightly in your desired color. To do this take small clumps of wool wrap it around your shape and stab it in place. This only needs to be a thin layer as it will be covered better later.











Step 2

Ridges

Once you have a colored ball take long and thin clumps of wool in your color and start making your ridges. To make the ridges I secured the clumps at the top and bottom of my ball with a few deep stabs. The top and bottom don't need to look good as the top will have a stem to cover it and the bottom won't be visible. I repeated this process until I had the "bumps" of my pumpkin. Sometimes I would go between this step and the next to help me envision what I was creating.




Step 3

(please ignore the clump of wool under my pumpkin it was not attached just stopping my pumpkin from rolling away)

This step was done somewhat during my second step as well but mostly once my pumpkin was covered in fluffy strips. In-between each strip I extenuated the shape by taking a single needle and stabbing down a line. I left the biggest part of the groove fluffy. This created the ribbed effect of a real pumpkin.







Finished Step 2&3

Step 4

The stem

There are a bunch of different things you can use as the stem but I decided to felt my own. I chose a second color and rolled it into a cylinder and stabbed it into shape.


You could also use a little stick or a wine cork hot glued to your pumpkin if you want to add a more rustic feel.








Step 5

The final

Your final step is to attach your stem. I stabbed the bottom of my stem which I didn't make as nice as the top to the top of the pumpkin. A few deep stabs with a single needle is all you need to keep it in place.










Finished!


This image was styled with last year's fall craft the Felted Acorn DIY





Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page