top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • libbyjhawkes

Embroidery for Absolute Beginners PT. 1 Supplies

Embroidery is a great hobby to get into especially for those looking for a chill activity to do while you watch tv. Unlike crochet and knitting there is no need to count stitches. For my visual brain it's a lot easier for me than other forms of needle work.



Supplies

There are a few things you will need before you start embroidering. Here are my tips on what to invest in and what you can live without.



Scissors

There is no need for fancy fabric scissors at first though they're nice when trimming the fabric to the hoop size. Scissors are mostly used for trimming embroidery floss. I just use my household scissors. There are also embroidery scissors that are nice for trimming small loose ends though they are unnecessary in the beginning.


Embroidery Hoops

This will be the most expensive piece if you buy it new. I'll always check out the craft section in the thrift store and can usually get one or two for 50 cents each. Keep an eye out for hoops that have cracks in the wood and don't tighten well as it can make the work more difficult. If you are looking at reusing a hoop and investing in a good one they are easy to find in the craft section in most stores. I've dreamt of working with a plastic hoop with a silicon grip around the edge, but alas I enjoy displaying my work in the hoop I used to make it so thrifting is the best option for me.



Embroidery Floss

This is my favorite part of any project as this is when you choose your color palette. Though you can also find thrifted floss I would recommend buying new so you know which colors you are using if you run out. This is also easy to find in the craft section of larger stores but craft stores have a better color selection.



Fabric

I usually work on a white fabric so my image will stand out though you can work with any fabric you wish. It is easiest for beginners to work with a slightly looser weave fabric (avoid silk) yet knits are also difficult to work with. Non stretchy fabric will be your best friend as they are the easiest to stretch on the hoop and don't move as much while you work.



Needles

Any standard embroidery needle will do. You can usually find these along with hoops but if you struggle try your local fabric shop. I would recommend buying more than one as they can break, but they tend to come in packs so the manufacturers has got you covered.



Needle Threader

By all means this part is optional but at the expense of your sanity. I recommend investing in a stronger one, opposed to the wire ones as they tend to break. My nightmare is when I'm in the middle of a project and my needle threader breaks. Fabric shops have the best selection.



Seam Ripper

Think of this as your eraser. A seam ripper with a sharp small point will be the easiest for you to work with as mistakes can often be tiny. Most department stores, craft shops, and fabric stores have decent options.


Mark maker

There are lots of options for this but what you are looking for is something to draw your design onto your fabric. The most common ones are chalk pencils and they can be found in any sewing section. If you choose to use a chock pencil I would recommend getting a couple colors (usually they come in blue and white). This will make it easier to choose a color that will show up on your fabric. To remove these pencil marks once you're done with your project you will need to remove it with water. An embroiderer's hack I know is that if you instead look to your stationary store for your mark making tools you will find the Pilot Frixion pens and markers. These pens can be erased by heat. So if you don't want to work with water you can instead use these and either iron or steam your project at the end to get rid of the visible sketch. The only fault I have found with the Frixion pens is that if you make a mistake in the drawing it's hard to erase only a part.


Disclaimer

I was not sponsored or paid by any of these companies. This is my review of the supplies I have or have tried.


Have you ever tried embroidery? Let me know what lesson you want from me next by commenting below!

Commentaires


bottom of page