top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

Travel Central Okanagan, Canada, Tips From a Local: P2 Wineries

I was raised in the Central Okanagan living in both West Kelowna and Kelowna for the vast majority of my life. Kelowna and the Okanagan area in general is a travel hotspot for Canadian and international travelers alike. Most people are drawn in by the beautiful scenery and sparkling lake yet there is much more to explore. A foodie's dream, a wine lover's playground, it even has something adorable for the shopaholic in your life. This three part series will tell you my favorite places for every occasion, focusing on Kelowna and a bit of the surrounding area, and all local.



West Kelowna

My true hometown, where I was raised and graduated. West Kelowna is very small (I still remember the excitement of finally getting a Walmart) and not known for much other than wine. The majority of the wineries here are conveniently located on one road that the city has designated the "wine trail". I happened to live on the wine trail and here are mine and my family's favorite places.


Grizzli is known for its huge tasting area. Although I find grizzly to be too corporate for my liking and by no means locally owned they do put on amazing events. Grizzli has made up for its lack of local connection by supporting many local crafters and artists by putting on large markets and events. They do this by far the most out of all the locations on this list. I highly recommend checking out their events to help them put their grand space to use.


Named after the small mountain located in the center of town, this winery carries my mom's favorite wines in West K. If you like your dry reds this may be your favorite as well.


The city's 'it' location is perfect for your fancy events. This stunning winery has perfected its wines and food providing the perfect luxury experience. This is a popular anniversary location among couples as its view overlooking the lake and vineyards will compete with your date in beauty.


My personal favorite winery for an overall experience. Their wine is great (I'm personally a white fan). The vibe is immaculate with much more rustic décor, it definitely appeals to a younger, more lively crowd without being rambunctious (it's still a classy place). They also have the coolest art on their bottles.


This is the only winery in West K that I will be mentioning not technically located on the wine trail although it is very close. Indigenous is on native owned land as well as being 100% indigenous owned itself (the only one in BC). This location is great for its view of the lake that you can't get anywhere else. The view overlooks the lake towards Kelowna which is completely one of a kind.



Kelowna

I have always loved the downtown Kelowna vibe and had the pleasure of living there for a couple years before I left the nest. During my more brief stay I learned about a few gems to check out.


This is a smaller family owned winery located in east Kelowna. The winery is located on the family's estate giving it a more welcoming vibe. I highly recommend buying a bottle to share at the picnic area with your friends/family. The beautiful grassy area overlooks Kelowna towards the lake. If you aren't into the fine dining that the other wineries have or simply want something different Kitsch does not have a restaurant so you are encouraged to pack your own picnic for your visit.


If you are a downtown soul like me, Sandhill is the perfect location for you as it is walking distance from Bernard and the beach. Sandhill wine is delicious and perfect to sip on while you take a break from the sun on your beach day. It seems they also love the downtown community as they often hold makers markets bringing in the community.


Although I have never visited the winery itself, Meadow Vista often has booths at makers markets so I have experienced my fair share of their creations. I am a honey wine lover as I tend to find it sweeter and Meadow Vista was the first winery that got me hooked. They have never disappointed me so why not find them at a market or visit their tasting room.



Lake Country

In the past when I wanted something a little different from my regular West K and Kelowna spots my family and I have checked out a few places in Lake Country. Here are my most notable stops.


This winery is an event in itself. Much like Quails Gate is to West Kelowna is how I feel the 50th Parallel is to Lake Country. Although unlike the majority of the wineries on this list they took a much more modern luxury look. This beautiful winery and restaurant overlook the lake and vineyards making you feel like you're on top of the world. I found their wine tends to be on the dryer side which isn't my favorite (it may be yours) but the view on its own is worth the visit.


As the hatch is to West K the Blind Tiger is to Lake Country, at least to me. This beautiful winery has everything you need: a fun vibe because of their speakeasy theme, a stunning view and awesome décor, my favorite rose "Hush Up Blush", and a pizza restaurant.


One of the older wineries in the area they have experience to show. I liked all of the wine I tasted and their affordable sub-brand is my go to hostess gift. They have a beautiful view as well but as they are more established their waits can be longer and views polluted with people.


Another smaller winery that makes up for it with big vibes. This winery is the definition of adorable. They have an adorable gift shop filled with local products as well and wine accessories perfect to remember your tasting tour by, especially if you otherwise can't. (drink responsibly) This winery is fun and feminine but will have something for everyone.




Disclaimer: Please drink responsibly. Plan a designated driver or pay for a service. BC will ID you if you look under 30 so please bring TWO pieces of ID even if you don't think you will need it. The legal drinking age is 19 in BC.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page