top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • libbyjhawkes

How to Make Working Out Not Suck

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

If you‘re like me I hate working out even though I love flexibility and strength. Here are some of the ways I like to make working out work for me.



Having a Buddy

Having a workout buddy is one of the best ways to keep yourself accountable and have some fun. There is so much value in having someone encourage you. Also one way to convince yourself to actually go to the gym is to make plans to go with your friends. If you're competitive that may also be a great source of motivation to push yourself harder. If you're not competitive it may also make you more comfortable going to the gym. Personally my favorite part of having a gym buddy is trying out new fitness activities and never feeling alone or silly in a class.



Do Something You Enjoy

This seems obvious, but is also a lot harder than it looks. It's taken me so long to find something I enjoy and honestly I don't know if I've found my thing yet but that's okay. There's nothing wrong with mixing it up. I also enjoy trying new activities to keep me interested. Here are some ideas:

- Rock climbing (this one helps you discover muscles you didn't even know you had, and you will be sore the next day)

- Yoga (keep in mind there is a lot of cultural appropriation within the yoga community)

- Sport (this could look like joining a rec league or simply passing a ball around with some friends)

- Jogging with friends (or by yourself if you prefer that)

- Nature walks

- Cycling


Set Goals

Setting goals is one of the easiest ways to keep yourself engaged. I love doing this, and it can be done in many different ways like trying to figure out how to do a handstand, or being able to jog that extra block. Finally reaching your goal makes working out rewarding. It gives you something tangible to actually work towards rather than the never ending pursuit of being "fit".



Reward Yourself

It's alright to reward yourself every once in a while even if it has nothing to do with working out, but rewarding your efforts even if you haven't completed a real goal per se makes you feel like working out is worth it. I found Penny from the "Big Bang Theory" had a great way of jogging, she would run until she was tired and then get a bear claw. If it gets you moving it's worth it. One thing I use as a last ditch effort to keep myself motivated is telling myself that if I workout for "X" number of days I can buy myself that thing I have been wanting. One way phycologists have found people actually stick to a work out routine is by investing money into it, such as buying a gym membership, or hiring a personal trainer. If you invest your hard earned money into it you will tend to want to get your moneys worth.



Take it Easy

Fitness doesn't have to be soul destroying lifting or exhausting runs. Keep in mind what works for you and your body. I'll often turn on an easy to follow tv show when I'm doing an at home workout or I'll consider a long walk my fitness for the day. Some people find lots of motivation in pushing themselves to be the strongest or fastest but to me it's just unsustainable. Enjoying what you do for fitness and being able to keep up with it for the long term is often much more important than short term results. This is also crucial for your health as well breaks are required for your body to recover from strenuous activity.



Pay Attention to How You Feel

Ultimately the purpose of working out should be for your health and overall quality of life. I've seen too many people quit because they couldn't see a difference in the scale, and to be honest when I'm working out I try to keep weight loss as far from my mind as possible. This mindset of trying to change the way you look, and criticizing yourself in the mirror will only discourage you. There are countless reasons to work out that aren't about looks and that's what I try to keep in mind. Look at your differences in sleep, energy, flexibility and so much more when you're working out vs not. That is the most important part of it all.



Disclaimer

These are just some ideas on how to have more fun when working out and are obviously not the only way of doing things. I am not a doctor or personal trainer. Most importantly when working out your health and safety come first so do whatever works for you!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page