top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

Ink on Paper Books vs Audiobooks, My Experience

I recently got into audiobooks while I draw and although this is a great way to read it’s also very different. Here are some of my pros and cons to audiobooks vs traditional.





Lowers Screen Time


I spend a large majority of my time on screens and because of this I try to limit screens whenever I can. Both traditional and audio books provide me with this option, though I do enjoy the freedom to multitask while listening to an audio book.





Immersive Experience


This may be due to me multitasking while listening to audiobooks but I feel more immersed in the books while reading them myself. The first book I listened to the narrator had an accent that was regional to the book. I felt this really helped with immersing me in the book though because of this I couldn’t listen to it at a faster speed out of fear of miss-hearing her.





Multitasking


Multitasking has to be the biggest perk of audiobooks. I’ve been listening while I draw and do chores. I feel I’m going through books faster than I ever have, which really helps with my fear of missing out on a good story.





Retention


By far my biggest downfall of listening to books would be that I feel I don’t remember it as well. I love reviewing books and unfortunately it would make it difficult for me to do an in depth review of whatever book I listen to.





Overall


I will continue listening to audiobooks as the practicality of it is undeniable. It seems to me though that rereading books using audio would be the best bet. When it comes to reading I really want to retain, I’ll stick to traditional reading. One thing I want to try still is listening to books that I am stuck in but want to finish to either read the next book in the series or for friends.



What books would you recommend listening to instead of reading?



Comments


bottom of page