top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • libbyjhawkes

4 Books I Read in English Class and Happened to Love

When I was younger I really struggled with reading and because of which I hated it. Over time I've not only improved my reading but found stories that inspired me. These two things helped spark my passion for reading.



Charlotte's Web

Out of this list this was the first one I read, in grade 5. Since that was 12 years ago I don't remember much of the plot. What I do remember however was lovely. As I was at the height of my animal obsession these characters captured my heart. Not only were the characters well developed and fairly relatable despite all being talking animals, the plot was also action packed, never leaving me long enough to get bored.



City of Ember

This book was my introduction to the dystopian genre and helped spark a 4 year obsession. I read this book in grade 6 and was never told it was actually a part of a series of 4. In the last year I have read the second book and although it wasn't as gripping as the first novel I will likely finish the series. City of Ember is based in an underground (literally not illegal) dystopian city called Ember. The two protagonists find a chewed up letter from the founders of the city and begin a wild adventure while solving puzzles. This story was incredibly gripping and a wonderful dystopian mystery that I will never forget.



The Huger Games

This book sparked my love for leisure reading the most. Although I did not actually read this book for school it is a common mandatory book. When I was in high school the movie had just come out and everyone was reading it so it was taken out of the school curriculum for a brief period. I happened to read this book in grade 7 much before it would be required in school (often it is a part of the grade 12 English class). My reading was by no means advanced at this time but I came to the realization that it is better to take your time reading something you actually enjoy than to force yourself to read something you can consume quickly. I did finish the series the same year but the first book was by far my favorite!



The Book Thief

I read this book in grade 12 and absolutely adored it. I consider this book one of my favorites of all time. When this book came up in class I happened to already have a copy and started reading it right away since I'm a slow reader, I am glad I did this as I had to stop every chapter to cry, I needed the extra time. I cannot recommend this book enough. I am almost exclusively a fantasy reader and somehow adored this book with every ounce of my being. There are quite a few horrendous things that happen throughout the book as it takes place in Nazi Germany, yet somehow I didn't find the novel too tragic to read as I have with many before (the reason I HATE the Kite Runner) I believe the protagonist was what kept my spirits up throughout the book. I have to say it "if you haven't read this book please pick it up NOW".




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page