top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

How to Turn Nerdy Merch into Classy Décor

My nerdy interests are fairly important to me as they bring me joy and creativity, yet so does aesthetic décor. I live in a state of constant internal conflict deciding between the two. Because of which I have found a few ways to incorporate both into my life and living space.



Fan Art

Fan art is one of the best ways to incorporate your interests in your décor for a few reasons. Fan art tends to be fairly affordable if you are purchasing prints and depending on your plans for displaying the art. Also, you are supporting a small business. Most fan art creators are smaller artists and because of which you are helping the community and someone's dreams. Fan art is easy to fit into any décor plan as you can choose the aesthetic you buy. Because of the choices you can choose how bold or subtle you want it to be.


Comment below if you want me to post about some artists I love.



Display

Depending on the type of pieces you purchase, display can make all the difference. If you are displaying art or posters consider framing and working the pieces into your home gallery walls if you have them. You may also want to consider shadow boxes for smaller items or working your merch into your home shelving. Quality display can often be the difference between tacky and classy.



Subtlety

I am someone who loves to have their merch on display for myself rather than for others. Because of this subtlety has become my best friend. I'll often put (non collectible) figurines in plants to create a terrarium or I'll have an item placed with a few other décor items so it's less noticeable. I also like having items from the franchise that could pass for non fandom décor such as maps. I find those who know the franchise will know the merch when they see it so it won't deter from conversation.



Functional

When it comes to functional merch I tend to go a bit bolder. I love an adorable mug or branded hand towels. Since these items have a function they are often only seen in passing making them less noticeable. There are a million different fan items out there with function, everything from coasters to blankets. I will also often look for a fan item when I need one of these functional items to bring a little extra joy to my life.



Inspired by

Look for items that fit the aesthetic and era of the franchise you're a fan of, such as if you're a Narnia fan look for a wardrobe similar to the one in the book and films. This can help you feel like you truly live in the fictional world. Don't be afraid of DIY'ing some of these items either. You can make your home a fantasy world on a budget as well.


Comments


bottom of page