top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

Embroidery for Absolute Beginners P3 Patterns

Updated: Apr 3, 2022

Embroidery is a great hobby to get into especially for those looking for a chill activity to do while you watch tv. Unlike crochet and knitting there is no need to count stitches. For my visual brain it's a lot easier for me than other forms of needle work.



Whimsical Mush


When I created this piece I was going for a 70's feel. This is perfect for retro décor as well as any forest lover's home. When creating the stem of the mushroom I made my satin stitches shorter to add texture to the piece. This is by all means optional as it is more time consuming. I also added a poem around the edge of the hoop in a stem stitch. To divide the poem's lines I used a lazy daisy, with a French knot center. This was my first piece using a stem stitch for lettering and looking back on it now I really struggled with my word spacing. As the mushroom is the part I enjoyed the most I turned it into a PDF pattern for you. Though I didn't outline this piece feel free to. I would recommend a back stitch.





You are my Sunshine



For this piece I was wanting to make a design that would be a good gift. I chose cursive writing for the upper half of this piece to add some fun variety to the writing. The cursive writing is harder to embroider than the printing so if you are looking for an easier option I would print all the writing. I didn't worry about the sun beams being a straight line as I thought it added to the sun texture, though if I were to recreate this piece I would go for straighter lines just to clean up the look. The idea of the sun could also be adapted to your gifting needs by writing a name in the sun for a door plate or choosing a quote that suits your gift recipient better.




Pastel Rainbow


This adorable little rainbow follows the gift theme and is perfect for any nursery or children's room. I left the bottom of the hoop fairly empty to leave space for a name or a quote to add a personal touch to this pattern. I only used three colors for this pattern but you could add the entire rainbow if you are up to the challenge. I found my satin stitch lines weren't as crisp as I envisioned for this piece so I added the back stitch between the colors to clean up the look. The French knot clouds at the bottom of the rainbow would also look great filled in with more knots to give them an extra fluffy feel though that would add to the difficulty of this piece.




These patterns are free for anyone to use and customize! Comment below if you want more or if you try any of these three.

댓글


bottom of page