top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

Books on my TBR and Why I'm Excited to Read Them

I may be a dedicated reader yet I'm also a really slow reader and because of which my "to be read" or TBR list is growing much faster than I can catch up. I am a firm believer that buying books and reading them are two different hobbies. I am also one of the slowest readers in my friend group but I have the best radar for a good book so I often will recommend books I either haven't read or am only beginning. Obviously recommending based on suspicion isn't the ideal situation but sometimes it must be done. Here are some of the books in my TBR along with some tips on how to choose the best reads for you.



Gilded; Melissa Meyer

A fantasy Rumpelstiltskin retelling drew me in for a few reasons but the most noteworthy being the author. Melissa Meyer wrote one of my favorite series, The Lunar Chronicles. By knowing an author's past works you know a little more of what to expect when picking up a new book. Knowing an author is like being brand loyal. You know their average quality and style. I will often choose books that I know the author of, and have liked their other works. Choosing your next read based on who it's written by is one of the most basic and reliable tactics for picking up something new.


I'm beyond excited to see what this book has in store for me as it's a fantasy one of my favorite genres and also is a little different from The Lunar Chronicles as they were science fiction. I love Melissa's writing style and her ability to spin classic tales into something unique. I highly recommend her other books and can't wait to dive into her new world.



Daughter of the Moon Goddess; Sue Lynn Tan

This fantasy novel is Sue Lynn Tan's debut novel and it is incredibly promising. I chose this novel in part due to its stunning cover art but mostly due to its genre. I am a fantasy addict, and have loved almost every young adult fantasy I have ever picked up. If you are unsure of what to read next I highly recommend picking up another popular book in your favorite genre. Books are categorized for a reason, and that reason usually has to do with interest of the reader. If you like faster paced books I recommend young adult fiction as it tends to be action packed. If you like to read for escapism fantasy and science fiction may be for you. If you like to learn something while you read try historical fiction or biographies. If you like the latter don't read any of my recommendations as anything "normal" is not my thing.


I can't wait to see what Daughter of the Moon Goddess is like as I have heard many amazing reviews for it. The book is inspired by the Chinese legend of Chang'e. I have always loved books based on myths and the legends themselves. Because of this and the genre I have no doubt I will love this story.



The Inheritance Game; Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Inheritance Game is a little different from my usual reads as it's a mystery thriller about a young girl who is written into a billionaire's will to compete with his grandsons for the inheritance. To win the money that could change the direction of her life she must solve puzzles, riddles and codes. I found this book online. Many people on Instagram and other social media platforms have been raving about its creativity and captivating concept. The book community online is huge and filled with so many good book recommendations. If you are at a loss for what to read next I highly recommend going online and seeing what others are raving about. The books may not be what you would normally pick out for yourself but are almost always a fun read to get you out of a slump.



Firekeeper's Daughter; Angeline Boulley

Again this novel is not my usual type of thing but I was immediately drawn in by it's indigenous representation. I picked this book up at Mosaic Books, one of my favorite bookstores I have mentioned on here before. This book was listed as a staff favorite. Book sellers are an amazing resource in choosing your next read if you are struggling. Their job is to keep you coming back for more books so they will recommend the best thing they can for you.


Firekeeper's Daughter is about a young biracial woman born out of scandal who is thrust into a world of tragedy and mystery. She must overcome murder, identity crisis, and love. What more could a young woman need when she joins an investigation to protect those she cares about.



Caraval; Stephanie Garber

I was recommended this book but unfortunately I can't remember who it was by. This face-paced fantasy seems to be right up my alley which is likely why it was recommended to me in the first place. Talking to your friends and family is one of the best ways to find your next obsession. Those close to you know you best and because of which can give you customized recommendations based on what you personally love and can't stand. I find when I'm recommending books to friends I think of what they dislike first. This is something the average person can't tell you and why a friend's opinion can be so important.


In Caraval our main character and her sister are invited to a once a year performance, but once they arrive her sister is kidnapped and finding her has become one of the main attractions. Scarlett must find her sister before it is too late. A magic filled adventure is what my dream books are made of and I can't wait to dive head first into this fantasy.



If you would like me to review any of these books once I read them please let me know in the comment section down below.

How did you stumble upon your favorite book?




0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page