top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

4 Cozy Things you Need for Reading and Book Recommendations

When I read it is for the escape so making a cozy environment is essential to me. When escaping from the world I prefer a short stand alone novel so I don't procrastinate my life too much. Here are some cozy settings and 4 books to go with them.



A Warm Drink

I tend to prefer tea although coffee and hot chocolate are also fantastic options. I find a warm drink is like a hug to the insides perfect for setting a cozy mood. Depending on your mood or your book a spiked drink may also be a great idea. Sometimes I’ll opt for a glass of wine instead depending on the vibe.


A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you're looking for an exciting book to curl up and read while sipping something warm this book is perfect for you. The Hunger Games prequel will have you sitting on the edge of your seat while you read about President Snow’s childhood. This book is perfect to read as a stand-alone or If you have only seen the Hunger Games movies as it’s set so far before the trilogy context isn’t required.



Blankets

When creating a cozy environment I always need a blanket. Sometimes I’ll even leave the window open a little to make the perfect blanket environment. Alternatively, if you are in a warm place sunbathing is a great option when reading. Just don’t forget the sunscreen.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower

If you're looking for a book you can read in one sitting this book is perfect. The Perks of Being a Wallflower will have you feeling every emotion possible while still being one of the shortest books I’ve ever read. If you're expressive while reading just like me this book will have you squealing into your blanket all the way to using it to wipe your tears. This book is most commonly mentioned as a coming of age story yet in reality it is about the main character's struggle with mental health. Please read the trigger warnings before picking up this poetic beauty.



Quiet

A quiet space to concentrate may be different to everyone. Some people need absolute silence to read while others prefer some white noise. Whatever your reading preference may be, feel free to pop in some ear plugs or buds to tune out the world and fall into the fictional one.

The Hazel Wood

If you're looking for a great escape this is your book. Based on the author's own fairytales this chilling novel is a page turner. When I read this book it was a 24 hour binge where I turned on my white noise fan and ignored this world until I knew the end. Although this book has an amazing sequel I found it a perfect stand alone as well.



Tissues

A good book can make you feel every emotion out there, often making tissues a necessity. Even a feel-good book can make you cry.


Famous Last Words

I am not a horror or thriller lover yet I loved this book! If you like mild spooky vibes along with Hollywood glamour this is the book for you. This mystery had me reading all through the night Just so I could know the end, yet after reading a scary book I probably couldn’t sleep anyways. If you're looking for a quick thrill take a dip into this spooky story.


What are your reading essentials?

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page