top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

6 Easy Recipes for the Novice Cook

I am what my family calls a survivalist chef, I cook only when necessary and I do not enjoy it. I am also pretty cheap when it comes to grocery shopping so I don't splurge too often on premade sauce and usually stick to household basics. Here are 2 breakfast ideas and 4 dinner plans for you to try. The reason I didn't include lunch is because I tend to have dinner leftovers for lunch. I will link the original recipes I followed and note my changes.



Breakfast

Healthy Banana Muffins

Truth be told I don't know how healthy muffins really are but these are filling and easy in the morning so I eat them anyway.

For this recipe

  • I used whey vanilla protein powder following what they called for

  • substitute margarine for coconut oil 1:1 ratio

  • 1:1 substitution of regular baking flour instead of oat flour


Fruit + cottage cheese

This is exactly what you think it is. I take canned fruit and about 1/3 a cup of cottage cheese for protein. Feel free to use any fruit and fresh or canned depending on your preferences. I use canned since fruit has a tendency to go bad in my house. If you need extra sweetener feel free as well as some granola if that's your thing.



Dinner

Shepherd's pie

I used the recipe on the back of a sauce packet and it was wonderfully easy. Frozen veggies, instant mashed potatoes and ground beef can turn into a full meal.

This is the original recipe:


Butcherer Korean Beef

Truth be told, I don't use a recipe for this one. I tend to throw together equal parts soy sauce and honey with some garlic and ginger. Then I will pour the sauce over cooked ground beef and heated up frozen veggies. The carb will often depend on what I have in the house either rice or instant ramen noodles without the sauce packet.

This recipe was inspired by:


Honey Garlic Chicken

This recipe is almost identical to the Korean beef other than with chicken. This is Taylor's (my boyfriend) favorite meal I make so I will often pair it with fried rice to make it more of a full meal.

Inspired by:


Sushi Role in a Bowl

I usually simplify the heck out of this meal by chopping up cucumber, avocado , and imitation crab. Depending on if the imitation crab is frozen I will fry it in some sesame oil to heat it up. I will toss the chopped bits in rice along with soy sauce and mayo for flavor.

A simplified version of:



I am always open to suggestions. Please comment your favorite easy recipes!





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page