top of page
  • libbyjhawkes

2022 Décor Predictions P1

Updated: Jan 8, 2022

When it comes to predicting décor trends I find it tends to follow fashion. By looking at Tik Tok and other cutting edge social media platforms you are able to get a well rounded idea of 2021's fashion trends. Although décor follows I would say a year or two behind fashion here are my predictions for 2022's décor.





Fabrics

Different textured fabric really took off in 2021. Everything from tweed to satins walked the runways this year. Though 2021 was not the year of mixing textures but rather matching sets in both fabric and pattern were all the rage.





Satin

Satin has been in style for over a year now perfect for any romantic look. Although satin is beautiful for the bedroom and has already been making its way into our beds I don't think it will be making it much further into our houses because of practicality reasons. If you are looking for a luxurious or romantic look, I believe satin will be the top choice for this year.





Tulle

Tulle has been dominating the curtain game for a few years already, perfect for both romantic and natural looks. This fabric is perfect for dividing spaces and giving privacy without sacrificing light. As sheer fabric is still making its statement in fashion I think it has a while more in our houses as well.





Tweed

Although tweed is one of my favorite fabrics at the moment for jackets I don't think this trend will be too long lasting. I think this year tweed will make its debut as statement pieces such as throw pillows and foot stools. I don't believe this trend will be too long lived and wouldn't recommend investing into any pieces of large tweed furniture. Having a few small tweed pieces in your home may just be the thing you need at the moment but I would be prepared to switch it out sooner rather than later.





Knits

Knits make a comeback every year during the winter season, though we are seeing a lot more cable knit garments rather than just accessories this year. The popularity raise of cable knit leads me to believe that we will be seeing this trend make its way into our home décor in the upcoming year, though I feel this trend will start closer to the winter of 2023. My recommendation would be looking into some neutral color cable knit blankets and pillows. Cable knit always seems to come back around Christmas but by investing in a neutral tone it will compliment more than just your Christmas décor this year.





Leather

Leather is making a huge comeback this year especially in black. Though leather is quite timeless it does gain popularity at times. This year is one of those times. I've been seeing leather everything from pants to bralettes. This year has really focused on a black or nude leather. As leather is timeless it's always a good idea to invest in a leather piece when it's big. Though I don't believe leather will be the biggest fabric trend this year I would keep my eye out for new and funky pieces.





Though texture has been a big deal the last few years I believe we will be looking more into color and pattern during 2022. I'll be predicting more 2022 trends such as color and pattern so if you would like to know more keep checking in.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page